Let the |> fun begin (F#)

At Ecole Polytechnique we had a lot of classes in OCaml (operating systems, compilers etc.) and things were really easy and fun.

In the past 6-7 years, Microsoft Research has prepared F# (http://research.microsoft.com/en-us/um/cambridge/projects/fsharp/) with OCaml at its core and I thought it is worth giving it a try.

Things went great and I actually used F# to implement a financial algorithm for a large set of data (hundreds of millions of records).  As F# is a compiled language that benefits from all of the functional programming features and from the interoperability with other .NET languages (C#, VB), I think using it in some scenarios could represent a great benefit.

In the next period I will have more posts about F# as it currently represents one of my main interests.

On the 22nd and 25th of February I will have two online sessions for Microsoft Romania (http://www.microsoft.com/romania/evenimente/) talking about the main features of F#.

Stay tuned for more!

Bogdan

3 Responses to Let the |> fun begin (F#)

  1. […] link: Let the |> fun begin (F#) « Bogdan Brinzarea's blog Share and […]

  2. Andrei Ignat says:

    I can not stay at presentation
    Could I see somewhere?
    Thank you,

    • bogdanbrinzarea says:

      Hi Andrei,

      I will post the slide deck and source code on my blog and the recorded webcast will soon be available on Microsoft’s site.

      I will post the link to the recorded webcast as soon as it will be available.

      I hope you will be able to join the second session on F# 🙂

      Regards,
      Bogdan

Leave a Reply

